2004 calendar

alameda bob

After returning yesterday from a 5 day Christmas Holiday, I found a present from Fr. Biondi with some impressive news about '03 at SLU.

My questions on the Now & Then photos especially July. What direction was the photo of Laclede Park taken? Is the new arena going to be where the lakes are now? It looks like an old school building behind the right lake, will it be back there?

Who is the statue walking with the staff in October?

I graduated in '64 and have driven by only a few times since then. I'll get to a game in the new arena next time I visit for sure.

With respect to the July photo, on the right side of the photo you can see the old Warning Schoool. A little to the right of the Warning School, you can see the existing tennis courts. (Both the school and the tennis courts are behind the scoreboard.) The new arena will be on the site of the Warning School and the tennis courts. The camera is pointing southeast in this photo.

OK, thanks Narc. I assume south is to the right and east to the left. The scene looks a lot better than the old b/w photo and will be even better with the new arena in it.

Now who is the Statue in Oct? What is the status of the Continental Building also? My Dad had a great office there before he moved to Clayton in the 50's.

I noticed on the schedule only 3 road games in the first 11 (including exhibitions) and only 9 of the next 18 at home. I hope the coaches have everyone ready now. No more time to experiment is there?

The crazy thing is that most of the "before" pictures on that calendar aren't that old. I started at SLU in 1993, and the campus looked fairly similar to the before pictures in many respects. I had forgotten about the seedy motel that stood on the site of Parks College and the HUD high rise that was located where the law school atrium is now located. I remember sitting in the quad and hearing a loud "boom" when that building was being demolished!