This type of crap really irritates me.

Yeah it irritates me too (I have been railing against this drivel for a least 5 years). Historically, ESPN and USA-today have always had these types of lists which are a combination of bracketology and marketing. That is, they include Marquette as "on the bubble" (which for the record is not a defined term and used very differently by different people) and not SLU because they expect more "eyes" to look for Marquette.

Also, it is usually very slow to change: will SLU be in tomorrow if they beat Louisville? Are they putting teams in because they are "predicting" them to do well down the stretch? Logically, a *lock* would be a team that could lose all of its remaining games but Louisville was a "lock" in February. What if they had lost to Memphis? Could that have "unlocked" them? Basically, it is a logically sloppy way to think about (much cleaner is "who would be in if selected today).

Why Washington at all? and even if you ignore dozens of other teams in smaller conferences, why Washington and not Cal--and if Cal beats Washington are they in this list (which begs the question as to why they were excluded).

Luckily, the committee does not think this sloppily but this unfortunately muddies the water for anyone trying to clearly discuss chances.

I mean, Marquette certainly deserves to receive all the attention in the world, given the last year's run and for elevating the stature of their basketball program compared to years past. However, stop writing editorials on a national webpage specified for those teams who still have a legitimate tourney shot. To me, it would seem obvious to include a team like SLU whose PROVEN to this pt. in the season to be taken before a team like Marquette. Give credit where credit is due and leave the marketing/editorial aspect out of it if you're gonna be unfair.

your link doesn't show marquette on the bubble

it shows DePaul .. chill out .. here's what it says