Not much to talk about so....

I thought I would post this

http://espn.go.com/ncb/s/dailywdarchive.html

I find the first paragraph to be a little disturbing. It gives me the impression that they are going to give Humphries the go ahead to play this coming year for the Gophers....what's up with that? I'm not an expert so somebody correct me if I'm wrong, but I was under the impression that if one is granted a release from an NLI, they must sit out a year (like JJ). So why is there even a question that this kid could play next year?? There were NO coaching changes, NO family tradgedies, just a kid that wanted out of his NLI. This happens every year and I have not heard of a kid getting to play the following year. If he is allowed to suit up, it just goes to show how currupt the NCAA is. The kids a McDonlald's AA and a Duke recruit and now the rules go down the toilet cause Coach K gives it the ok?? It sounds fishy to me....thoughts??

Not so, remember Ryan Hollins played last year for the UCLA Bruins, and JJ sat only because Coach Soderberg decided to redshirt him. It depends on the kind of release the school the kid commited decides to give.

billiken recruit, ryan hollins also did not have to sit out a year last year when he reneged on his billiken loi.

the difference here is that humphrey's sole reasoning is he changed his mind. in the past the waiver has occured due to a coach leaving or a school going on probation, etc.

OK, now I get it. If they let Humphries go without penalty for no reason whatsoever, I think it would be a mistake. This would more or less make a NLI the same thing as a verbal commitment. It would set the precedent and recruiting could get rather ugly. IMO these kids should have to honor their NLI regardless of the situation (except for possibly a family tradgedy) or else they have to suffer the consequences. Its just a fact of life.