Bring football back to SLU

usf87

I read with interest the "Annual Plea for Football at SLU" threads posted on this message board. I believe it's time to resurrect the topic, but with renewed vigor this time.

I graduated from a small school in Indiana (U of Saint Francis, NAIA), and played some soccer there. We didn't have football at the time and basketball was untouchable. As a student I (and fellow classmates) often wished we had a football program. The president we had during my collegiate years was a stodgy old nun (think Fr. Biondi) who was satisfied with the status quo and didn't do anything to promote the school. The school atmosphere was stagnant, kids would go home on weekends and there was nothing to do on campus besides shooting pool and playing ping-pong at the student center.

The school enrollment had plunged to an all-time low of appx 600 students (full and part-time, undergrad and grad), to the point that there was talk of closing the school down. This was in the early 80s. In 1990 a successor was appointed as new president - another nun. She was younger, dynamic, progressive, forward thinking and open minded. She was also a graduate of Saint Francis, having spent the 70s living in the dorms while she prepared for her novitiate. Ironically she received her PhD from SLU. In '97 one of the administrators suggested we start a football program. He wasn't exactly laughed out of the room, but the suggestion wasn't taken seriously. He was insistent and tried several more times. The local media got on the band wagon, saying they wouldn't even have 50 spectators come to a game, let alone field a successful program. Finally, the president resigned to the idea and gave her blessing to start a football program.